NME Music News, Reviews, Videos, Galleries, Tickets and Blogs | NME.COM

The Avalanches have released ‘We Will Always Love You’, a new song featuring Blood Orange. Listen to it below.

The Australian group premiered the song today (February 20) at 8.10am GMT. It’s their first release since their 2018 ‘Because I’m Me’ remixes EP.

Blood Orange (real name Dev Hynes) sings on the two-minute track. Stream it below.

The Avalanches have been teasing the song for the past week or so. Yesterday, they posted a video of the song being broadcast from the Capitol Records Tower in Los Angeles.

That followed cosmic artwork posted to social media and put up around Australia on cryptic billboards last week.

Those boards featured a message that reads, “After we die, what then? We will always love you”, with a link to the URL wwaly.earth beneath the phrase. The page, which The Avalanches’ official website also redirects to, features a video with an audio clip of morse code that spells out the group’s name.

The Avalanches released their last album, ‘Wildflower’, in 2016. That ended a 16-year-long wait for new music following their critically acclaimed 2000 debut, ‘Since I Left You’, which is widely considered an influential record in the plunderphonics genre.

The Avalanches are set to perform at several European festivals, including All Points East 2020. The London festival, which will be held over two weekends in May at Victoria Park, will be headlined by fellow Australian act Tame Impala. The lineup also includes latest additions The Kooks and The Wombats.

The post The Avalanches release new song ‘We Will Always Love You’, featuring Blood Orange appeared first on NME Music News, Reviews, Videos, Galleries, Tickets and Blogs | NME.COM.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?