After a six-year break, guitarist Christian Münzner has rejoined German progressive death metallers OBSCURA as a permanent member. Münzner, known for his virtuoso guitar playing in extreme metal, joined OBSCURA in 2008 and recorded the band's critically acclaimed full-length albums "Cosmogenesis" (2009) and "Omnivium" (2011), both released via Relapse Records. He has toured the world, collaborated internationally with several groups as session player and is also working as guitar teacher. Christian says: "I'm very excited to be back in the band. After my departure in 2014, I stayed very active on the scene in various formats, but I needed some time off from the busy touring schedule to take the time and learn to manage my hand issues, regroup my thoughts about my musical future and focus on some other matters that were going on in my life at that time. I'm happy to say I'm back with a vengeance and I feel I have taken my playing to a new level in recent years, and I can't wait to share with all the OBSCURA fans what we are working on at the moment. "During my time away from the band, we remained in touch, and in recent years, I felt my interest in extreme music and the drive to write and play in that style resurfacing, it feels like everything came together at the perfect moment. I think we are having a very strong lineup and I am excited about the future of OBSCURA." In addition to releasing three solo albums — "Timewarp" (2011), "Beyond The Wall Of Sleep" (2014) and "Path Of The Hero" (2020) — Münzner has appeared on NECROPHAGIST's critically acclaimed second studio album, "Epitaph" (2004); SPAWN OF POSSESSION's third studio album, "Incurso" (2012); PARADOX's sixth studio album, "Tales Of The Weird" (2012); ALKALOID's first and second studio albums, "The Malkuth Grimoire" (2015) and "Liquid Anatomy" (2018); and ETERNITY'S END's first and second albums, "The Fire Within" (2016) and "Unyielding" (2018). As revealed last month, Dutch fretless bass player Jeroen Paul Thesseling rejoined OBSCURA after a nine-year break. Earlier this month the group also announced Austrian drummer David Diepold as its new member. Now, with the comeback of Münzner, 75 percent of the classic "Cosmogenesis" (2009) and "Omnivium" (2011) lineup is reunited. OBSCURA 2020 is: Steffen Kummerer - guitars, vocals Christian Münzner - guitars Jeroen Paul Thesseling - bass David Diepold - drums Founded in 2002, OBSCURA established its reputation by releasing five studio albums which have been highly acclaimed by fans and press alike, accompanied by playing support tours as well as their own headline shows all around the globe.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.


 © amin abedi 



Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?